List with the institutes of BAS @ 2021

Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
Address: ul. 15-ti noemvri №1, 1040 Sofia
Abbreviation: БАН / BAS
Institutes (normal font): 42
Academic specialized units (italic font): 8
Specialized units (at the end): 9

This list is in English, click to go to the Bulgarian version.

Division 1: Information and Communication Sciences and Technologies

  1. Institute of Mathematics and Informatics
  2. Institute of Mechanics
  3. Institute of Robotics
  4. Institute of Information and Communication Technologies
  5. National Laboratory of Computer Virology
  6. Laboratory of Telematics

Division 2: Energy Resources and Energy Efficiency

  1. Institute of Nuclear Research and Nuclear Energy
  2. Institute of Electrochemistry and Energy Systems “Academician Evgeni Budevski”
  3. Institute of Chemical Engineering
  4. Central Laboratory of Solar Energy and New Energy Sources

Division 3: Nanosciences, New Materials and Technologies

  1. Institute of Solid State Physics “Academician Georgi Nadjakov”
  2. Institute of Electronics “Acad. Emil Djakov”
  3. Institute of Optical Materials and Technologies “Academician Jordan Malinowski”
  4. Institute of Mineralogy and Crystallography “Academician Ivan Kostov”
  5. Institute of Metal Science, Equipment and Technologies “Academician Angel Balevski” with Hydro- and Aerodynamics Centre - Varna
  6. Institute of General and Inorganic Chemistry
  7. Institute of Organic Chemistry with Center of Phytochemistry
  8. Institute of Physical Chemistry “Academician Rostislaw Kaischew”
  9. Institute of Polymers
  10. Institute of Catalysis
  11. Central Laboratory of Applied Physics - Plovdiv

Division 4: Biomedicine and Quality of Life

  1. Institute of Molecular Biology “Academician Roumen Tsanev”
  2. Institute of Neurobiology
  3. Institute of Microbiology “Stephan Angeloff”
  4. Institute of Biophysics and Biomedical Engineering
  5. Institute of Biology and Immunology of Reproduction “Academician Kiril Bratanov”
  6. Institute of Experimental Morphology, Pathology and Anthropology with Museum

Division 5: Biodiversity, Bioresources and Ecology

  1. Institute of Biodiversity and Ecosystem Research
  2. Forest Research Institute
  3. Institute of Plant Physiology and Genetics
  4. National Museum of Natural History
  5. Botanical Garden of BAS

Division 6: Climate Change, Hazards and Natural Resources

  1. Geological Institute “Strashimir Dimitrov”
  2. National Institute of Geophysics, Geodesy and Geography
  3. Climate, Atmosphere and Water Research Institute
  4. Institute of Oceanology “Professor Fridtjof Nansen”

Division 7: Astronomy, Space Research and Technologies

  1. Institute of Astronomy and National Astronomical Observatory
  2. Space Research and Technology Institute

Division 8: Cultural-historical Heritage and National Identity

  1. Institute for Bulgarian Language “Professor Lyubomir Andreychin”
  2. Institute for Literature
  3. Institute of Balkan Studies and Center of Thracology
  4. Institute for Historical Studies
  5. Institute of Ethnology and Folklore Studies with Ethnographic Museum
  6. Institute of Art Studies
  7. National Archaeological Institute with Museum
  8. Cyrillo-Methodian Research Centre

Division 9: Man and Society

  1. Economic Research Institute
  2. Institute for the State and the Law
  3. Institute for Population and Human Studies
  4. Institute of Philosophy and Sociology

Specialized untis

  1. Central Library of BAS
  2. Scientific Archive of BAS
  3. Training Center of BAS
  4. Professor Marin Drinov Publishing House
  5. Bulgarian Encyclopaedia Scientific Information Centre
  6. Joint Innovation Centre of BAS
  7. Center for National Security and Defense Research
  8. Creativity Houses of Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
  9. Hotel of Bulgarian Academy of Sciences

BAS 1 (Wikimapia) | BAS 2 (Wikimapia)

Main page